Turnagain Times Flag July 1, 2010
 Vol. 13, No. 16
Serving Bird, Indian, Girdwood, Portage, Whittier, Hope, Cooper Landing & Moose Pass  
August 19, 2010

Primary Election to be held Tuesday, August 24

The Primary Election is Tuesday, Aug. 24, and there’s a full slate of candidates at the state and national level along with two Ballot Measures.

There are three high profile lists of candidates including candidates for Governor, U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski’s seat and Rep. Don Young’s.

At the local level for Turnagain Arm residents, state Rep. Mike Hawker (Republican) is not being challenged in the primary and will face Matt Moore (Democrat) also unchallenged in the primary in the General Election Tuesday, Nov. 2.

However, for state Senate District P (Turnagain Arm and South Anchorage) there are three Republican candidates: Jennifer Johnston, who is the Anchorage Assembly member representing South Anchorage and Turnagain Arm; she faces Republican challengers Cathy Giessel and Mark Moronell. Janet Reiser, the Democratic candidate, has no challenger.

For Sen. Murkowski’s seat, the incumbent Senator will face Republican challenger Joe Miller. On the Democratic ticket, Jacob Seth Kern challenges candidate Scott McAdams. Libertarian candidate, Fredrick Haase, has no challenger.

In the Governor’s race, incumbent Sean Parnell is facing four Republican challengers: Gerald Heikes, Sam Little, Ralph Samuels, and Merica Hlatcu.

Candidates for Governor, Ethan Berkowitz and Hollis French, will face off on the Democratic ticket. Libertarian William Toien and Alaskan Independence candidate Donald Wright have no challengers.

U.S. Rep. Don Young faces Republican challengers John Cox and Sheldon Fisher. Democrat Harry Crawford has no challenger.

For Lt. Governor, three Republican candidates withdrew, leaving only Republican candidates Eddie Burke and Bob Lupo. Democrat Diane Benson, and Libertarian Jeffrey Brown, have no challengers.

There are two Ballot Measures in the Primary. Ballot Measure No. 1 is an initiative prohibiting the use of public funds to lobby or campaign, and prohibiting holders of government contracts and family members from making political contributions.

Ballot Measure No. 2 requires an abortion for a minor (under 18 years of age) to obtain a notice of or consent from parent or guardian or through judicial bypass.

Polls open at 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. Locally, voters in Girdwood can go to the Girdwood Community Center or in Indian at the Indian Valley Bible Chalet.


© 2010 Midnight Sun Communications, LLC










Web Design and Development by OTC